Lefora Free Forum
524 views

If you like this forum, and appreciate all the free materials and help you've been getting - please read the post here...

Page 1
posts 1–11 of 11
guru - founder
1404 posts

Go to this post in the forum and you'll see what I mean:
 
http://global-english.lefora.com/2009/02/10/usefull-links/page1/#post4507250
 
Thanks,
 
~ Jason

__________________
"English is as easy or as difficult as you imagine it to be..." www.english-itutor.com
novice - member
41 posts

Hello Jason,
Well, I searched that site and I couldn't believe that there are people who may do this. I'm really sorry. I followed your advice, even if I don't know whether it could change something. I hope you will continue to help us here. It is awful that many students may loose such a good teacher and material only because of a plagiarist. Are there some punishments for this ?
All the best !

regular - member
82 posts

Hello Rodica,
I am stunned too. Even I couldn't believe this. How can people do like that? I was writing in his forum and suddenly everything disappeared. There is no forum in his/her website now. I think he removed that.
Jason,
I am really sorry for this. I think this person should get some punishment. I think he is doing this intentionally. He knows that he is not supposed to copy other peoples content. I was writing in his forum and requesting him to either delete all the materials or put a link to your site but suddenly everything disappeared and I can't see his forum now.

__________________
"Knowledge Is Power"
novice - member
24 posts

I had just heard of cyber  thiefs...just coming across one,now!Cheaters never prosper...that is whats going to happen!I too am shocked by this unethical act!

regular - member
82 posts

Yes!!! He removed all your materials Jason. In fact he removed speaking and writing sections from his website.
Congratulations!! I hope you are relief now.

__________________
"Knowledge Is Power"
regular - member
77 posts

Hi everybody.
I tryed to enter to the website of this guy and it come out a notice saying:

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.
Please contact the server administrator, root@majordomo.ru and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error. More information about this error may be available in the server error log.
Maybe he realized that he is in trouble.
Buenosaires

__________________
Buenosaires
guru - founder
1404 posts

Thanks for the response, everybody - what wonderful forum members you are!
 
The site has been stripped bare for the moment, but that doesn't mean deleted - it just means the site owner has taken things offline for a while or has screened the page URLs. There is a chance the site owner will just lay low for a while and then crop back up again. He has placed a cheeky video on the front page trying to be funny about illegal downloading...
 
The sad thing here is that I am all for distributing free materials around the web and helping as many TOEFL test takers as possible. If this person had just asked my permission to feature my materials on his site, I would have said yes - so long as they were completely free to site visitors and there was appropriate acknowledgement and links back to the original materials.
Things like my complete TOEFL speaking test and all the YouTube videos I've made can be inserted in other sites without having to get specific permission, but he didn't feature any of those. He only used the materials that could be downloaded or copied and pasted, and hence be made to look like HIS materials. The activities I've featured with listening files in an Evoca player were not featured, because basically there's no way for him to do that without linking back here or to my main site. One can only assume he was deliberately trying to obtain materials on the sly and build some sort of business for himself. He is also being silly to think he can be bulletproof for featuring pirated complete TOEFL books and audio on his site. I know people from the major publishers, and they DO really hunt down the people who do this. He has just got a TOEFL score and I assume wants to study somewhere outside of Russia, where the lax Internet monitoring allows cyber criminals to thrive - his aliases and actual TOEFL scores + dates have been published around the web - what a horrible shame it would be for him to find he has a criminal record once he ventures outside of Russia?
 
His site actually looked quite nice, and featured some good tech. What a shame, because it could have become a very good TOEFL resource site. So Mr. TOEFL Max, if you're out there, and want to do this sort of thing properly - let me know and I'll try to help you. It's not too late...
 
I'll be posting more about this on my blog soon - first I'll give Mr. TOEFL Max a chance to contact me and set things right first.
 
Once again - thank you so much for your loyal and decent support, members. I'm quite moved!
 
All the best,
 
~ Jason

__________________
"English is as easy or as difficult as you imagine it to be..." www.english-itutor.com
newbie - member
7 posts

hi guys .. can you please tell me, I know its not a right place to ask this but i really need this information, how can one delete a forum which he created on this site? plz help me out with dis. i know im interupting you all here and im sorry .        PLZ HElP ME I AM REALLY WORRIED. 

newbie - member
2 posts

Hi Jason,

Sorry for what happened. I was mad too, it is just not fair!
I tried to go on his site to protest but could not find it. I hope he learned his lesson.
Easy money won't last and won't benefit anyone!

Please don't be discouraged with such behaviors. You're doing a great job!

Tofela

guru - founder
1404 posts

hi guys .. can you please tell me, I know its not a right place to ask this but i really need this information, how can one delete a forum which he created on this site? plz help me out with dis. i know im interupting you all here and im sorry .        PLZ HElP ME I AM REALLY WORRIED. 

-peacerazi


 
No problems - I've deleted those posts as per your request.
 
All the best,
 
~ Jason
__________________
"English is as easy or as difficult as you imagine it to be..." www.english-itutor.com
novice - member
17 posts

Hi Jason,

       I have heard that someone had copied your material and kept it in their own site. I was shocked on hearing this. How can one do this thing? Even though if he copies he should have linked back to your site. As u know, even I am running my own site http://mechengg.tripod.com, a site for mechanical engineers, I link to those pages from which I took the material. Its unfair to copy the material without the authors permission. Anyway, as he has removed his site there is no more problem.

Page 1
posts 1–11 of 11

This Topic Is Locked To Guest Posts

It's been a while since this topic was active, if you'd like to get it going again, please post as a registered member

join now